The United States Arbitration Corporation (USAC)

USAC Banner 300x250

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lease -- If they made a mistake in accepting my move, shouldn't they resolve it?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lease -- If they made a mistake in accepting my move, shouldn't they resolve it?

I have been a resident at my apartment complex for about 4 years. I put a notice to vacate, since I was not feeling safe in my area. My last day would have been the 15th of January, but, I was reassured that efforts were being made to make it a safer inviroment. So, I signed a new lease for a bigger apartment, to which I had to pay a new rental deposit ($200.00), pay the prorated month at the new lease price ($343.50), transferred my utilities and phone line, paying all transfer fees ($216.00). I was suppose to get the keys by the 12th and start moving. I did all that was required.

A new lease was printed, signed and they took my money. On the day of the 12th, I was notified I would not get the new apartment, I would either renew my old lease (now paying a higher amount, which is only about $30.00 difference) and would need to come up with the prorated money for the renewal by the 14th or move out by the 15th.

I asked them why couldn't they use the money I had given them already, to which they told me I would get it back as a refund and it would take 7 to 14 days.

They have pined me into the wall. What are my options? Besides, being homeless on the 15th of January. I have sent an email to their corporate offices. But, I fear my ignorance regarding my rights as a tenant will make my disadvantage greater.

If we signed a contract for which they took money for and deposited it, isn't that a binding contract?? If they made a mistake in accepting my move, shouldn't they resolve it without obligating me to pay more or get out??

Somebody, please, please help me ASAP... I only have 2 days.