Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• renting case in MA, US

I am an international student and right now I meet some unhappy things with my old landlord.
    I moved out at Dec 31th, 2009. This apartment does not include utilities and the way of heating is using oil. So I need order oil by myself.
    When I moved in this apartment, the landlord told me he will give me cash for the remaining oil which is still in the tank when I move out. He told me that is the rule, so I gave him $50 for the remaining oil (gauge showed 25 gallons and $2 per gallon). But I just moved 3 days, the oil burner stopped working. The landlord told me that because there is no oil in the tank and let me order oil. I asked him why there is no oil in the tank i just pay him $50 for the remaining oil, he told me if oil below 25 gallons the oil burner will stop working. Then I ordered 100 gallons oil and pay extra $30 for restarting the oil burner. I found the gauge of the oil tank has some problem and I could not read the remaining oil correctly when I lived in a few weeks. I asked landlord to fix it. He promised it but did not do it.
    At Dec 31th I moved out I asked landlord to give the money for remaining oil, he told me the gauge is not correct and he cannot give the money for the number showed from gauge. I asked him to fix it and then give me the money from the working gauge. He promised, but a week later (Jan 7th) I called him he still do not fix it and he told me he will not fix the gauge until he found next Tenant and next tenant order the oil. Now it has been more than one month. I tried to call him 3 times in past one month, but he always told me there was no next tenant and let me wait.
    What I can do to get my money back? I think this is unreasonable I have to wait he found next tenant then I get my money back. And to be honest I cannot feel he is willing to give me money back.

Re: renting case in MA, US