USAC Banner 728x90



No announcement yet.

University of Hull offering qualifying law degrees

  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • University of Hull offering qualifying law degrees

    University of Hull offering qualifying law degrees recognised in England, Wales and Northern Ireland

    The University of Hull, also known as Hull University, is an English university, founded in 1927, located in Hull (or Kingston upon Hull), a city in the East Riding of Yorkshire. The main campus is located on Cottingham Road in the north west of the city while a smaller campus is located in nearby Scarborough. The main campus is also home to the Hull York Medical School, a joint initiative with the University of York.

    The university was once the workplace of the poet Philip Larkin who was librarian of the Brynmor Jones Library. The Philip Larkin Society now carries out activities in the university in rememberence of Larkin. It was also once the workplace of current poet laureate Andrew Motion and the late film director Anthony Minghella.

    Lord Wilberforce, a senior Law Lord, was Chancellor of the University from 1978 until 1994, and was known for his participation in the life of the University and the Law School, despite his position being entirely honorary. Robert Armstrong, former Cabinet Secretary, was Chancellor from 1994 to 2006. Virginia Bottomley was installed as the current Chancellor in April 2006.

    The University of Hull

    The Law School

    History of the Law School

    Humble beginnings

    The Law School is the longest established department within the University of Hull, which started life as the University College, Hull. The Law School was established in October 1927 with an initial intake of fourteen students preparing for their professional examinations. The lectures took place in the centre of Hull, in the Law Society's Hall and the Guildhall, where special lectures for the general public were also on offer. The initial courses were all provided under the auspices of the Yorkshire Board of Legal Studies, which also had oversight of similar courses at the Universities of Leeds and Sheffield.

    A major landmark was reached in 1954 when the University College, Hull obtained its Royal Charter and thereby its independence as The University of Hull. The Law School experienced a period of modest growth until the 1960's. By that time the teaching of the LLB degree had largely superseded the professional courses. The numbers were still relatively modest, however, with just 81 Law Degree students in total for all three years of the course in 1960.

    Leadership and growth

    In 1974, a most notable development saw the establishment of the Faculty of Law alongside the original two Faculties, the Faculty of Arts and Science, and the Faculty of Social Sciences within which Law had previously been included. This seemingly important development coincided with the appointment of Professor H. K. Bevan, as the first Dean of the Faculty of Law. Under his influential leadership, the Law School witnessed a sustainable growth period, with student numbers reaching 250 in total for all three years, exclusively on undergraduate Law programmes. Under the stewardship of Professor Bevan the Faculty continued to grow until the eighties, expanding its services to students by offering its LLB Degree on a part-time basis and introducing postgraduate degrees in law.

    University restructuring

    A major University academic restructuring occurred in 1987 with the abolition of all Faculties and the creation of fourteen Schools, of which Law was one and reverted to its original title of the Law School, initially under the leadership of Mr R. Smith as Dean. A decade later there was a further restructuring and the re-introduction of Faculties, with the Law School initially being part of the Faculty of Social Sciences and subsequently, since 2000, as part of the largest of the University Faculties, that of Arts and Social Sciences.

    Research excellence

    At present, the Law School is one of the most dynamic and vibrant institutions in the University of Hull and a leading force of legal education in the United Kingdom and the European Union. As a research-oriented institution, the Law School has achieved international standards of excellence in research areas such as Public Law, European Law, Human Rights, International Law, Restorative Justice, Legal Education, Corporate Social Responsibility and Market Regulation.

    The development of dedicated Research Institutes and Centres, such as the Institute of European Public Law, inaugurated in 1992 under the leadership of Professor Patrick Birkinshaw; The McCoubrey Centre for International Law established in 2001, in memory of the late Professor Hilaire McCoubrey and most recently the Trade and Commercial Law Centre, formed in 2006, demonstrate the commitment and dedication of the Law School in legal and multi-disciplinary research as part of the future.

    The research excellence is feeding to all aspects of teaching, undergraduate and postgraduate and creates an environment of intellectual stimulation, innovation and reward. Research-led teaching and academic excellence form the heart of the Law School's strategy and mission for the years to come.

    Written by Professor Christopher H Bovis, HK Bevan Chair in Law

    More Info:
    University of Hull Law School - History of the Law School

    Undergraduate Courses
    • LLB Law
    • LLB Law Part-time
    • LLB Law with Foundation English Language
    • LLB Commercial Law
    • LLB International Law
    • LLB Law with Business (joint with Business School)
    • LLB Law with Criminology (joint with CASS)
    • LLB Law with French Law & Language (joint with Modern Languages Department)
    • LLB Law with German Law & Language (joint with Modern Languages Department)
    • LLB Law with Philosophy (joint with Philosophy Department)
    • LLB Law with Politics (joint with Politics Department)
    • LLB Law with Spanish (joint with Modern Languages Department)
    • LLB Senior Status

    Postgraduate Courses
    • Dual LLM with Washington College of Law
    • LLM European Public Law
    • LLM Human Rights and Criminology (joint with CASS)
    • LLM International Law
    • LLM International Human Rights LawLLM International Business Law
    • MA in International Law and Politics (joint with Politics Department)
    • MA in Restorative Justice Distance Learning (joint with CASS)
    • Higher Degrees by Research

    More Info:
    University of Hull Law School - Courses

    Becoming a Lawyer

    The Nottingham Law School website also features a graphical guide to becoming a Solicitor or Barrister which may be helpful.

    University of Hull Law School - Becoming a Lawyer


    University of Hull Law School

    University of Hull
    Hull HU6 7RX, UK
    Tel: +44 (0)1482 466055, Fax: +44 (0)1482 466388
    Email: [email protected]

    University of Hull Law School - Contact the Law School
Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
Smile :) Stick Out Tongue :p Wink ;) Mad :mad: Big Grin :D Frown :( Embarrassment :o Confused :confused: Roll Eyes (Sarcastic) :rolleyes: Cool :cool: EEK! :eek:

Do cats say meow or mooo?... (write the answer twice with an "@" between the words)

widgetinstance 213 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.