Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I work if im an International student?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I work if im an International student?

Do I need permission as a foreign student to work in the U.S.? Thanks for your reply.

Re: Can I work if im an International student?

Employment Issues for International Students
    Source: Bentley College

As an international student (an F-1 or J-1 visa holder), you may receive special permission to work off-campus from the Office of International Services and the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

F-1 visa holders may engage in "Practical Training." There are two types of "Practical Training": Curricular Practical Training (CPT) and Optional Practical Training (OPT). J-1 visa holders may engage in "Academic Training." Although similar, "Practical Training" and "Academic Training" are not identical. So we have provided descriptions for them in this chapter. But first, let us define the term "employment" as it pertains to international students.

Employment
    "Employment" is any type of work performed or services provided in exchange for money, tuition, fees, books, supplies, room, or for any other benefit. If you receive no pay or other compensation for work performed, the activity is not defined as "employment" but is considered to be "volunteer work" (Government Affairs Bulletin. NAFSA: Association of International Educators. Vol. 9. August 1993.)

For-Credit, Paid Internships:
    Curricular Practical Training (F-1 Visa Holders)

The U.S. government will allow you to work off-campus if employment is an integral part of your studies (degree requirement) and the work is in your major field of studies. This is called "Curricular Practical Training" (CPT). At Bentley College, CPT includes for-credit, paid internships arranged through your faculty internship coordinator.

USCIS Eligibility Requirements