X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distant father... both my daughter and I are Canadian

Hello!

I have two questions - so sorry! Please bare with me as this is my first time.

I seem to have run into a life long issue to do the person I decided to have a child with. I have a 9 yr old daughter with a man who is American, while both my daughter and I are Canadian. She was born/raised in Canada.
    I am trying to apply for her passport and the passport office is telling me that her father HAS to sign a form stating that he acknowledges/consents to the passport. I have a court document stating I have sole custody and that he only has visitation during christmas and/or birthdays. They are refusing me a passport because he wont sign the form. He said the only way he would sign it is if I go to court with him to give him joint custody which I am NOT interested in doing. He hasnt paid child support in 2 yrs and does NOT have a relationship with his daughter -

MY QUESTION - ** If he tries to take me to court for joint custody - do I have any right/say - will it even be granted due to being in two different countries? If he asks for specific access - such as 3 weeks in summer and march break and things like that, do I have the right to refuse those in court?

re: Distant father... both my daughter and I are Canadian