Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I live in Florida- Ex Spouse/Children live in Connecticut

We divorced in 2005. I was unemployed and my support was based on my wages in Connecticut. I moved to Florida in 2006. Since then I have held the same job. My wages are $20k less than Connecticut due mostly to cost of living difference. I would like to have my support modified but my ex is telling me she wants more. I was assigned to pay $170 per month for two children until the youngest turns 18 and $1530 in back support. The eldest turned 18 last year. I have been paying $800 a month for the past 60 months (out of good faith). I have satisfied my back support of $1530. My ex is demanding that I pay half of tuition for both children (one in private school and one in college). She also wants me to pay for health insurance. My divorce paperwork states that I should pay half of tuition (it does not clarify beyond that). Is this something that I could get modified? Is cost of living taken into account? I cannot afford $800 a month. My bring home for two weeks is $1000. I am remarried and have one step child although I do not think I can take her into account for anything nor my wife's income.

Re: I live in Florida- Ex Spouse/Children live in Connecticut

I wish to inform you that you may file a petition to modify the child support payable. You may inform the court that there has been a reduction in your yearly income on move to Florida. The petition will be filed in the same court which awarded the child support as it has continuing jurisdiction in this matter. The court always considers the best interests of the child in addition to the change in the financial circumstances of a parent. You may read the pro se guide online on your court Website for guidance. The court will consider all the facts and decide the matter.

AFF

Comment