USAC Banner 728x90

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Open Container on City Streets, Repeat Offender?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Open Container on City Streets, Repeat Offender?

The City of Newark, DE has a code that classifies an open container of alcohol on city streets is a misdemeanor charge. I'm an out-of-state resident (of age) and upon returning to DE to attend a college Homecoming game, I was arrested for having an open container (red plastic cup with small amount of liquid). Not considering guilt, my concern is, while attending the University 4 years ago I was arrested and convicted of underage consumption (misdemeanor charge). Is something like this typically seen as a "repeat offender" and could I potentially face higher fines/punishment? Or are the two unrelated and I shouldn't necessarily worry? I haven't decided what action I will take, as I'm a Federal employee and I would prefer to keep my record clean (2 misdemeanor charges can't be helpful),but if the law is the law, maybe I have to accept it. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Normally they will not be related. You may confirm your details with the prosecutor's office if need be.

Comment

Re: Open Container on City Streets, Repeat Offender?

I assume I would have to enter a plea of not guilty if I were to want to attempt at lessening the charges? Do prosecutors' offices for criminal complaints typically offer pre-trial conferences to discuss these matters before appearing before the judge? In other words my assumption is this first court appearance is only for the plea? I wouldn't assume they would also hear the case then?

The last time I appeared I just put in a plea of guilty before the judge, they collected the fine, and sent me on my way.

Comment

Re: Open Container on City Streets, Repeat Offender?