This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• property question... brother's wife is threatening to sue us

This is my first time doing this. But I will try to make my story short...my brother and I purchased a property with two mobiles on it one was financible and the other didn't count because of its age. But it is financed in my brother's name and we each put $5000 down on the property. We both been living at each place for ten years now. He then married, moved out and left the property for us and his wife is trying to get more money out of us. My husband and I just pulled a loan to fix up the place that isn't financible with my brother's consent of remodel. His wife then put our places for sale on Facebook and Craig's list without telling us. So we are moving. My husband pulled all the windows and doors we just put in which my brother is well aware of and ok'd but she's threatening to sue us. I just don't know what to do...

re: property question... brother's wife is threatening to sue us

No action has been taken yet just want to be prepared just in case because we know how she is. Plus they've been married for 3 yrs now and purchased the property way before they were married.

Comment

re: property question... brother's wife is threatening to sue us

I wish to inform you that the property has been purchased before your brother got married, therefore, it is not marital property. Further, the owner of the property is your brother and all improvements to the property have been made by you with his consent. If your brother wants you to vacate the premises, you may demand the cost of improvements made to be paid to you as oral consent is a valid consent. If he does not resolve the matter, you may file a lawsuit in the Small Claims Court if the amount of claim is within its jurisdiction. You may place all the facts before the Court so that it can decide the matter.

AFF

Comment

Re: property question... brother's wife is threatening to sue us