Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 way car accident in a rental car - I was in the middle

Got in an accident on the highway and I was in the middle driving a rental car. The front car had a bumper crack and the car behind us essentially had no damage. Our car had our front grille and back bumper cracked.

The car accident went like this 1<2<3, where we are number 2 and number 3 pushed us into number 1. The police report verifies it is not our fault and number 3's fault.

I was driving a rental car, which was registered to my father, which he bought the premium insurance from the rental agency. He was sitting next to me at the time of the accident. The rental agency called us a month later and is telling us to pay for the damages or they will report us to collections. They said because I was an unregistered driver, all insurance is void.

I feel like I'm being scammed and will not pay the insurance agency and they are asking an absurd $10k for the bumper crack damages.

Can my father claim on his insurance? Can we claim through the credit card we paid with auto insurance? Can we claim through the agency we went through for the car rental (we didn't rent directly with the rental agency, but through a 3rd party)?

What is going on and what kind of lawyer do we need to see? We are not at fault, yet we are needing to pay? Please help! Can someone explain the situation.

Re: 3 way car accident in a rental car - I was in the middle

You are not liable based on the facts you provide. The third car that hit you from rear is solely liable for your damages as well as the damages to the car in front of you. Gather evidences, pictures to support your case. Hire an attorney immediately to deal with the collection agencies and insurance company.

Comment

What state was this? Does the car rental agreement specifically allow for unnamed drivers?

You need to find out what precisely they are billing you for - was driver #3 uninsured?